• bookshelfbanner.jpg

Upcoming Events

RiverRun is only an hour north of Boston, which means that we've become a literary hotspot for author tours. We host over 100 events a year, and feature authors at our store and in bigger off-site venues around town. We're proud to partner with The Music Hall, South Church, the Portsmouth Public Library, and other community leaders to bring interesting and important authors to seacoast New Hampshire.

If you can't make it to one of our many readings, order a signed copy! We can even get it personalized for you if you want.  And check out our Gallery page for photos from past events.

 

American Circumstance by Patricia Leavy

SEP

23

Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 7:00 PM

Patricia Leavy: American Circumstance

Paige Michaels comes from the kind of wealth that few experience. The daughter of a notoriously successful banker who wielded great political power, she grew up in an extraordinary world peopled by the leaders of tomorrow. Now one mistake rooted in her past is threatening to unravel her perfect life. After years as a stay-at-home mother in New Jersey, Mollie Johnston convinces her husband to move back to New York, to fulfill her dream of living amid the bright lights. 

read more

Pre-order a Signed Copy
Miss Anne in Harlem: The White Women of the Black Renaissance by Carla Kaplan

SEP

23

Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 7:00 PM

Carla Kaplan and Miss Anne in Harlem at the Discover Portsmouth Center

Please note that this event will be held at the Discover Portsmouth Center, located at 10 Middle Street in Portsmouth. This event is presented in partnership with the Seacoast African American Cultural Center.

Celebrated scholar Carla Kaplan’s cultural biography, Miss Anne in Harlem: The White Women of the Black Renaissance, focuses on white women, collectively called “Miss Anne,” who became Harlem Renaissance insiders.

The 1920s in New York City was a time of freedom, experimentation, and passion—with Harlem at the epicenter. White men could go uptown to see jazz and modern dance, but women who embraced black culture too enthusiastically could be ostracized.

read more

Pre-order a Signed Copy
Pigs Can't Swim by Helen Peppe

SEP

25

Thursday, September 25, 2014 - 7:00 PM

Helen Peppe: Pigs Can't Swim

As the youngest of nine children growing up on a farm in rural Maine, Helen Peppe never seemed to fit in with the rest of her family. While her sisters focused on boys, cigarettes, and alcohol, Peppe preferred to curl up with a book. Once she learned the animals on the farm were raised to be eaten, she became the family’s only vegetarian. And no matter how many times her parents and siblings berated her for talking too much, Peppe could not stop asking questions about the world around her.

read more

Pre-order a Signed Copy
Pioneer on a Mountain Bike: Eight Days through Early American History by Dianne Fallon

SEP

28

Sunday, September 28, 2014 - 4:00 PM

Dianne Fallon - Pioneer on a Mountain Bike: Eight Days through Early American History

Note: This event will take place at our Kittery location at 7 Wallingford Square.

Discover a time and place jam-packed with raids and river armadas, real estate speculators and rebellions, religious revivals and rags-to-riches entrepreneurs.

In a journey that combines time travel with adventure, cyclist Dianne Fallon takes readers to the early America she discovers on a 400-mile trek from New York to Maine.

read more

Pre-order a Signed Copy
Life Drawing by Robin Black

SEP

29

Monday, September 29, 2014 - 7:00 PM

Robin Black: Life Drawing

From the author of If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This (a finalist for the Frank O'Connor Short Story Prize), Life Drawing is a fierce, honest and moving story of married life - its betrayals, intimacies, and secrets. Augusta and Owen have taken the leap. Leaving the city and its troubling memories behind, they have moved to the country for a solitary life where they can devote their days to each other and their art, where Gus can paint and Owen can write. But the facts of a past betrayal prove harder to escape than urban life. Ancient jealousies and resentments haunt their marriage and their rural paradise.

read more

Pre-order a Signed Copy
Even in Paradise by Chelsey Philpot

OCT

14

Tuesday, October 14, 2014 - 7:00 PM

Book Launch for Chelsey Philpot and Even in Paradise

The Great Gatsby meets Looking for Alaska in this stunning debut novel.

When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne's at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about her. Most people do . . . or think they do. Charlotte certainly never expects she'll be Julia's friend. But almost immediately, she dives headfirst into the larger-than-life new girl's world—a world of midnight rendezvous, dazzling parties, palatial vacation homes, and fizzy champagne cocktails.

read more

Pre-order a Signed Copy
The Hawley Book of the Dead by Chrysler Szarlan

OCT

16

Thursday, October 16, 2014 - 7:00 PM

Chrysler Szarlan: The Hawley Book of the Dead

For fans of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and A Discovery of Witches comes a brilliantly imagined debut novel brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic.

 

Revelation “Reve” Dyer grew up with her grandmother’s family stories, stretching back centuries to Reve’s ancestors, who founded the town of Hawley Five Corners, Massachusetts. Their history is steeped in secrets, for few outsiders know that an ancient magic runs in the Dyer women’s blood, and that Reve is a magician whose powers are all too real.

read more

Pre-order a Signed Copy
The Saint and How to Survive a Sharknado by Tiffany Reisz and Andrew Shaffer

OCT

20

Monday, October 20, 2014 - 7:00 PM

Tiffany Reisz and Andrew Shaffer: The Saint and How to Survive a Sharknado

This event is recommended for mature audiences.

Before she became Manhattan's most famous dominatrix, Nora Sutherlin was merely a girl called Eleanor… 

Rebellious, green-eyed Eleanor never met a rule she didn't want to break. She's sick of her mother's zealotry and the confines of Catholic school, and declares she'll never go to church again. But her first glimpse of beautiful, magnetic Father Marcus Stearns—Søren to her and only her—and his lust-worthy Italian motorcycle is an epiphany. Eleanor is consumed—yet even she knows being in love with a priest can't be right.

read more

Pre-order a Signed Copy

Locally owned, locally operated, locally involved.